My kitten walks…

My kitten walks on velvet feet, and makes no sound at all.
And in the doorway nightly sits to watch the darkness fall.
I think he loves the lady, Night, and feels akin to her,
Whose footsteps are as still as his,
Whose touch as soft as fur.

My favourite poem of all time, ever.  

I love the sense of wonder in it, the texture in the words and the picture it paints in my head of a sleek black kitten, tail curled around his feet, sitting patiently and watchfully at the door, and the calm, warm sense of lady Night greeting him after sunset.

Written Lois Weakley McKay, included in The Crow graphic novel by James O’Barr.

Comment

